Guide to Gluten-Free Booze

Home / Blog / Guide to Gluten-Free Booze

Commiting to a gluten-free diet does NOT mean that you need to be a teetolaler during the holidays. There are actually LOTS of alcoholic gluten-free drinks that are safe for you if you’re in celebration mode and drinking with friends this holiday season or the rest of the year. I’m going to highlight some of the gluten-free drink options below so that you have a definitive list to follow and go into a festive evening with ‘eyes wide open.’

Gluten-free Beers:

  • Corona Beer
  • DogfishTweason’s Ale
  • New Planet’s Raspberry Ale
  • Omission Beer

You’ll find lots of detail on GF beers here and here (for info on Corona), so I won’t go into it too much here. Whether you want a nice light lager or a craft beer with depth, you have great gluten-free choices.

Gluten-free Ciders:

  • Angry Orchard Hard Apple Cider—sweet and crisp hard cider is found in LOTS of stores and restaurants. It is mighty sweet, but very yummy too.
  • StellaArtois Cidre—made from apples or pears. This hard cider is MUCH LESS SWEET than the Angry Orchard version and is actually pretty delicious walking the line between wine and beer, but closer to beer.

Gluten-free Hard Liquor:

RUM (normally distilled from sugar cane, so pretty safe for us gluten people.)

  1. Bacardi Superior is a good one. Bacardi has confirmed they are indeed gluten-free except for Bacardi Silver.
  2. Captain Morgan is also GF if you like dark rum.

VODKA

  1. Smirnoff—Smirnoff products are gluten-free, made with corn. AVOID the flavors or the ICE version.
  2. Tito’s is also a good affordable gluten-free choice. They are made in Texas and it is made out of corn.
  3. Ciroc is a great Vodka, it is made out of grapes, and is also gluten free.
  4. Chopin-another good option–potato based.

TEQUILA

  1. Most tequila’s are gluten-free. My favorite is Silver Patron. It tends to give me less of a hangover.
  2. If you’re looking for a more affordable option, then Jose Cuervo is also gluten-free. From Jose: Being straight distilled spirits, all Jose Cuervo Tequilas are gluten free. In addition, Jose Cuervo Authentic Cuervo Margaritas, Margarita Minis, and Golden Margaritas are also gluten-free.”

GIN

  1. Hendrick’s Gin-because the gluten is supposed to be distilled out in the process of making gin, it is supposedly gluten-free….BUT I wouldn’t recommend it for someone who is actively trying to stay away from gluten. Drink other things, please.

BOURBON/WHISKEY

  1. Bourbon is traditionally made of corn, but many brands now use malt or barley. Maker’s Mark is the real deal and is gluten-free BUT the celiac.com’s website does say they use some wheat so BOURBON is NOT RECOMMENDED.

WINES

Wine is naturally gluten-free because it is made from grapes. Yay!

I know socializing can be hard if you’re feeling restricted. Hopefully, this post will help you enjoy the holidays and have a drink with confidence. Please connect with Healthy Nest Nutrition if you have further questions or want to explore ‘your best diet.’

 

Sources:

Thegluten-freebar.com

Urbantastebud.com

http://feedmephoebe.com/

celiac.com

www.glutenista.com

https://draxe.com

Related Posts
gluten_free_beershutterstock_242966545