Gluten-Free Beers

Posted on Mar. 1, 2012

Can you drink beer if you have a wheat intolerance or gluten food allergy?

Gluten-Free Beers

I’ve had several clients ask me about gluten-free beers.  I know for sure that that Red Bridge and Bards are both gluten-free for sure.  I know that Bud Light Lime is made with rice instead of barley.  But, I am asked frequently about Corona Extra beer.  There seems to be a controversy about whether it is gluten-free or not.  I did a little digging and this is what I found. 

Corona Extra is made with all natural ingredients, water, barley, hops and yeast, according to the Canadian Corona Company.

Unfortunately, barley contains gluten, so if you are celiac, you should definitely not drink Corona beer.  Barley does not contain wheat…it contains gluten. If you are allergic to wheat, but not to barley, you may be able to tolerate the barley in this beer.  It’s really important to understand your own condition.

Corona has a very small amount of gluten.  Lots of folks can drink it without digestive distress.  One Corona contains less than 20 ppm or less per beer. The limit for gluten free is 200 ppm. Other beers contain well over 2000 ppm.  Mexican Corona’s are actually marked gluten-free.

Delayed onset food allergy/intolerance may take weeks to show symptoms.  Just because you don’t notice outward symptoms right away, doesn’t mean your body isn’t experiencing some internal inflammation and other distress. 

So now you know what I know, and hopefully you have more information available to make your own educated decisions about this beer.  Maybe you will have a Corona this weekend.  If that is the case, ENJOY!  Maybe you’ll choose something else, and you’ll enjoy that with more peace of mind!

Robin